Tags

, ,

As if the porch wasn’t enough, it was decided that the 3/4 bath downstairs needed a facelift. Between the blue paint, blue cultured marble vanity (complete with cigarette burns), and the yellow linoleum, we had had enough! It took all of two weeks to make the change. This was what I had imagined early on when we thought of owning our own old home–quick and easy fixes. Phhttt!!!….

The old beater...

The old beater...

I’m not a big fan of colored walls. Today that yellow wall is so cool and next year my wife will say, “That color is SO yesterday!” Then it’s up to me to repaint. So my solution is WHITE! (I have too much of my grandmother in me.) It’s one thing to repaint every few years in these cookie-cutter houses they build today with their limited (or any) trim. But in an old house with the elaborate trim, masking is a pain in the butt!

For this earlier remodeled bathroom and its simple trim, I acquiesced to color. My wife gave me the color samples of what she had chosen and off to Lowe’s I went. I asked for a gallon of that color. Keep in mind that this bathroom is roughly 6×8. When the paint person was done, I had TWO gallons of paint! One for the base color and one for the top color. Huh? I didn’t realize it took two different colors! But it was already mixed and I was stuck with it at $50 per gallon.  I maybe used a third of each gallon… (sigh)

New with expensive paint

New with expensive paint

