Tags

, ,

I have always had a fascination with and love of stained glass. My father-in-law, an artist in Iowa, started stained glass many years ago for his old house. I’ve always wanted to try my hand at it, and in 2007 I finally made the leap and signed up for a class. It was the best thing I ever did. The instructor and owner is very good and very supportive. The glass shop’s site.

In progress

In progress

Now that I had some idea about how to build leaded projects, it was on to the linen closet doors… My wife likes color, so she demanded that the design include green and pink.

“Green and pink?!?!”

“Yes, green and pink!”

“Okay, honey, whatever you say.”

After it was done, I could honestly say, “Gee, I guess it wasn’t so bad after all.”

When I renovate a room, I take all the glass out of the windows and reglaze. My son’s room had a few, shall we say, unfortunate events with a couple of his windows. The worst of it is that the glass in this house has a tremendous amount of character, i.e. imperfections, so I was very much upset when I broke them. But all is not lost as part of it lives upstairs once again except now as part of the new linen closet.

Detail

Detail

Completed linen closet

Completed linen closet

