Tags

, , ,

The major 2008 project was to redo my daughter’s room. This room never had a door, just a large archway. We used it as our bedroom when we first moved in awaiting the master bedroom renovation to be complete. I can personally attest to the fact that this room, being in the northwest corner, was VERY cold. When I took the trim off the windows, I could see daylight, so I guess that was explained.

This was the recycled room as many of the elements used were recycled from other places/areas. The baseboard was from my son’s room (there wasn’t enough left to put it back in his room), the attic and closet door were from a salvage yard, and the window seats were made of wood gleaned out of houses in Iowa.

I stripped the trim myself this time since it was shellacked as an initial coat. Stripping paint is such a crappy job! I hate it with nearly every fiber of my being. Well, nearly as much as I hate mudding, anyway. The windows were strange in that they appeared as if they had been shellacked, but had been vigorously sanded and then glazed with some bizarre yellowish-type paint. Maybe it was some cool new preservative of the day; I don’t know. I do know that it was a bitch to get off the wood.

One note: I tried using the premixed, low dust drywall compound in this room. It went on well and sanded just like they promised. I was a convert! I didn’t have to use my shop vac/water bucket combo and give myself a heart attack this time. What could be better?

I’ll never use it again. After I primed it, I noticed that it didn’t get rock hard like standard compound does, but I shrugged it off. However, that has become a problem. Nearly every corner has cracked. None of the other rooms that I have mudded with the standard compound mixture have ever cracked. My impression is that this stuff is awesome at what it is sold as, but lousy as a joint compound. I would avoid it if I were you.

