So I’m in the basement the other day and I look at the stained glass window that I built for the future reconstructed landing. I really wish I could get that installed sooner than later, for no other reason than to get it out from under foot. The idea of installing it starts to take root and eventually morphs into the realization that it might be “doable” to open up the staircase (finally!) and redo the entryway. When I told my wife, she nearly crowned me because I had convinced her that nothing was happening this year… But I’ve salvaged a lot of trim material out of an abandoned house in Iowa (owned by my second cousin three times removed (whatever that ultimately means)). As a result, the main costs associated with this renovation are some custom basecap, sheetrock, insulation, the neighbor-electrician’s bill, a whole bunch of stripper, steel wool, and a ton of sweat and tears. Maybe I’m up to it afterall…

