Tags

, , ,

Okay, this truly was a test of my patience. The neighbors may have been forced to close their windows to block off my raucous swearing while I installed this stuff. To add insult to injury, I’m not entirely certain that I like the outcome, but it is done. If I had it to do all over again, I think I would try using 1/4 inch sheetrock, doubled up. I’ve been told it’s very flexible, so it would shape to this curve without too much effort. Live and learn, I guess. The only saving grace in all of this is that it’s in the closet. Perhaps I can buy a cheap mud knife and cut it to the approximate curve to fill in the creases…

As for the remainder of any more curved areas, there is only a narrow section above the double windows that still needs to be covered with sheetrock. Instead of scoring the back and breaking it to the shape, I am going to lay it between two objects (yet to be determined) with some kind of weight in the middle to gently “warp” it into shape. Hopefully that will work better.

Curved sheetrock

