Tags

,

Where to begin? As with any project, I suppose, in order to complete one project, five others upstream must be done first. So it was true regarding the stair paneling. I so desperately wanted the large panel out of our parlor. Unfortunately, the way the original carpenter had built the stairs, it required that the lower panel be installed first. Before I could install that panel, I wanted to make sure that the final three stairs were complete since I would need access from behind. Before I could install the stairs, I had to design and build the bull-nose riser and tread for the initial step. Before I could install the steps, I had to figure out what to do with the hole in the oak flooring. At any rate, you get the idea…

I can now say that I have bent wood; something I have always wanted to try. But I didn’t take any photos. I have no clue why. Lazy, I guess. The slightly modified technique I used came from a copy of “Handbook of Doormaking, Windowmaking, and Staircasing” by Antony Talbot. It actually worked quite well and I’m pleased with the results.

The reclaimed baseboard is now nearly completely in. I like the looks of the corner blocks. It’s a marriage of two different homes’ trim, but it works. The outside corner base trim piece came new from a local lumber yard. Who would have guessed? The corner protector came from a salvage yard. $3!!!!!

Once the steps were in, the paneling could be installed. Since the plaster and lath were removed, it changed the way in which the panelling fit, but luckily one cut off the top made it fit nearly perfectly. The panel itself took my son, my wife, and me wielding a finish nailer to get it in, but it worked! I’ve decided my son cannot leave home this summer for college. Who will help me with the heavy lifting-type projects?

With the panelling in place, the remaining trim could go up on the east wall. It’s beginning to look like a room, believe it or not…

