Tags

, , , , , ,

Some months ago, I posted that the foyer was done… It seems that I stretched the truth a tad. As it turns out, the closet in the foyer was put to use before it was finished. The graduation party was happening and I didn’t suspect that anyone would stick their nose in it, so it was left taped and mudded. Until this weekend…

I was contemplating what to start next and nearly began work on the side door entrance (it is just downright embarrassing), but providence smiled and reminded me that I really should finish the closet before I start a new project. Besides, I was tired of working around the bundles of beadboard stored in the basement that were destined to be installed on the curved wall. This weekend, I managed to get the wall paint, beadboard, curved baseboard, light fixture, hooks, and crown molding up.

Personally, I hate the looks of the beadboard in the closet. I spent a great deal of time contemplating whether or not I should paint it. Understand that I don’t “do” painted wood except in an exterior application; it’s against my religion. I can honestly say it was supposed to be painted but then I saw the quality of the wood and its many knots and imperfections. If it was going to look even half-way decent, I would be spending hours with wood filler trying to make a decent surface to paint. I was out and the shellac was in. Unfortunately, it looks a tad too “country” for me, but whatcha gonna do?

Based upon my experience with the curved crown moulding to the left of the front door, I knew I didn’t want to spend hours cutting little pieces and assembling them in this stupid closet. My solution was to use a polyurethane chair rail for the wall and a PVC cap mould for the ceiling. I knew that nothing I could buy as a single piece would bend the way it needed to but it seemed reasonable to think that the PVC, since it was solid plastic, could be heated and bent. I built a small jig to hold the PVC in place while I heated it and it worked like a charm.

My solution for the baseboard was to laminate 1/4″ plywood. The grain is running the wrong direction to look like “real” 3/4″ lumber, but again, it’s just a closet. The base cap is yet to be built. Stay tuned…

If I never have to deal with curved walls again in my lifetime, it will be too soon.

