Tags

, ,

The “spooky old tree” silver maple at the end of the driveway finally met its demise today. Sad, really, but a necessary evil. I would guess that it was at least 100 years old, but had definitely seen better days. Although it was 60″ in diameter at its widest, the trunk was only four inches thick at its widest. I have no idea what kept the thing upright these last years.

It took about 3.5 hours to remove it. There were only a handful of branches left; they cut those off and ground them up in no time. It’s amazing to me that the chipper just ground away those 14″ or so thick limbs! When the removers were done, I tried to convince them (tongue-in-cheek, of course) to give me a discount because it was such an easy job (few limbs, very little wood to cut on the trunk, etc.). They didn’t bite. (shrug)

No more spinners in the spring, sticks, and leaves to pick up but I will desperately miss the shade. And I won’t have to worry about it falling down in the next wind. I think I want to replace it with a flowering crab–small but colorful.

