Tags

, , ,

For the past three weekends, I have been physically abusing myself by volunteering with set construction for the upcoming high school musical, Beauty and the Beast. The good (bad?) news is that there is only one more weekend before the performance.

That being said, I did find time to start my next, small house project. The eaves of the upper story of my house are decorated with corbels. I’ve never actually counted, but I would suspect there are around 50 of them. Years of ice damming issues in two locations took their toll on three of them. I’ve always meant to repair/replace them and now that I’m actively considering painting the house, now is the time to get started. Naturally, I’ll have to repair the soffit itself…

On Saturday, I sandwiched up three blocks-worth of scrap lumber (2 1×6 and 1 2×6) and this afternoon, cut the profile for each. The new ones are still a little rough at this point, but after another long day at the school I had lost all motivation to continue insofar as sanding them goes. Hard to imagine a time when one could walk into the local lumber yard and order up about four dozen of these…

