Tags

, , ,

Well, it’s done. And I literally and figuratively wipe my hands of it! From the outset, this seemed like it would be a walk-in-the-park, but it turned out to be a slog-in-the-bog. Some of the glass was too thick for the lead, while others were a mere 1/8″ thick. I think the dark textured glass around the amber oval interior was not properly annealed. It cracks just looking at it–almost literally. Some of it actually cracked after having lain on the workbench for a couple weeks. In retrospect, I should have replaced it all, but I didn’t trying to be a purist. Now some of it has cracked after being leaded. It’s an old window so I’ll just chalk it up to patina. The worst of it is that each time I walk past it, I will see those cracks and grind my teeth…

Because this was a rebuild, I actually started in the middle (sort of) and worked my way out. I left the outer border for last because I knew it would need to be cut down since the original was crammed into the sash and I was going to add a zinc frame. It made finishing a bit more challenging than normal, but it worked out in the end.

Don’t look too closely, or one might notice the areas where I double-leaded it. Grrrrrr……

